ISPIM - the International Society for Professional Innovation Management - is a community of members from research, industry, consulting and the public sector, all sharing a passion for innovation management - how to successfully create new products, processes and services from ideas to stimulate economic growth and well-being. Formed in Norway in 1983, ISPIM is the oldest, largest and most active truly global innovation network.

The Knut Holt Award

Named after the founder of ISPIM, this award is made to the overall best paper at the annual ISPIM Innovation Conference.

The Alex Gofman Award

Named after our former Advisory Board Member who was passionate about teaching innovation, this award is made to the student with the best paper at the annual ISPIM Innovation Conference.

The Dick Marsh Award

Introduced in 2017, and named after our former Board Member, this award is for the paper at an ISPIM Connects conference that demonstrates the best overall innovation management impact.

ISPIM Innovation Management Dissertation Award

The annual ISPIM Innovation Management Dissertation Award is made to the student completing the best PhD within innovation management each calendar year. The Award is open to all students completing a PhD within innovation management.

Scientific Panel Contribution Award

The annual Scientific Panel Award is made to the member of the panel that has provided the best scientific input to an ISPIM event or journal special issue in a calendar year.

A Brief History of ISPIM


Knut Holt in 1983

ISPIM has its origins in an initiative taken by Prof. Knut Holt at the University of Trondheim in 1972. He started and organised a programme of comparative cross cultural studies on  Needs Assessment and Information Behaviour: the NAIB Program. The objective was to present an array of tools and guidelines for their practical application for the assessment of user needs in the product innovation processes.